Hawaiian Adventure Day Three

October 1, 2015

Today’s adventure on the island of Oahu started with another long morning of coffee and lying in bed. I rarely…no…NEVER…get to lay in bed much past 6am in my real life. Being able to get up when I want to and start my day is a gift in itself.

I decided to trek down to the barn here at Tradewinds. It’s a big, beautiful real barn that my host, Cheryl, uses to create weddings to remember. Unfortunately she is shutting down her business soon, but I was able to observe her doing a little decorating for an upcoming event next weekend. The downstairs part of the barn is used as the site for the wedding activities and the upstairs is literally a man-cave, filled with Cheryl and Dave’s life story over the last 25 years. I took a few photos of the outside of the barn as well as a view of part of the ranch standing from upstairs viewpoint.

IMG_0709 IMG_0710 IMG_0712 IMG_0713

And a few friends…..

20151001_093238 20151001_105259 20151001_105254

From there I decided to enjoy a few hours at Waimea Falls. Cheryl told me about a beautiful waterfall that was only about a small hike on a paved road. So I figured my knee could handle that. I’m used to 10,000 steps or more so what’s a small hike? The reality was it was only about 1.5 miles and not even steep. It felt just like a normal walk I would do at home with the exception of being surrounded by EXTREME nature and beauty. GAH!! I try to take photos but, as with any vacation of beauty, photos never capture it all for the folks back home.

IMG_0757 20151001_133619 20151001_120043IMG_0763 IMG_0759 IMG_0740 IMG_0721 IMG_0722 IMG_0719

My first stop was to take a photo of the restaurant called The Proud Peacock. Marcie Disher, if you’re reading this, I dedicate this portion to you. There is a peacock that sits on the railing of the balcony, proud as proud gets. There are others that walk the grounds as well, but I only saw the two pictured below.

IMG_0716 IMG_0717 IMG_0718IMG_0767 IMG_0766

And then, I began my slow and lovely walk towards the waterfall. I took a LOT of photos of flowers and foliage that made me feel happy. So, yes, if you’re reading this I am going to indulge you with those photos.  Please enjoy….I have no idea what they’re called but I call them “Pretty.”

IMG_0762 IMG_0761 IMG_0752 IMG_0750 IMG_0749 IMG_0748 IMG_0747 IMG_0746 IMG_0743 IMG_0742 IMG_0741 IMG_0739 IMG_0726

This one reminded me of a flowing tree of love.

IMG_0760

I took many photos of the cascading river and falls along the way of my hike but I finally made it to piece de resistance. <—say that in your best French accent. It was beautiful! Not nearly as tall and glorious as the falls at Multnomah that I saw during my trip to Oregon, but man….who doesn’t love a good waterfall no matter what the size? People were inside the pool swimming and frolicking directly underneath the falls. I sat on a rock and happily watched them all.

IMG_0725IMG_0723IMG_072720151001_13021320151001_130330

But then I thought…what kind of freaking adventure am I on if I just sit here on the sidelines? For goodness sakes Kimberly….GET IN!! I grabbed a life jacket from the lifeguard and very………slowly……..and….…..carefully……..walked into the water. You see that picture below of those people taking their time getting in? I am not going to lie, getting in was SCARY!! Those rocks are slippery with that thin layer of moss that gathers on rocks under water. Good night, I felt like an old woman as I tried to maintain my cool and dignity by proceeding with caution into the water. I’m pretty sure I failed miserably as I kept reaching down and grabbing onto rocks for safety. All I kept saying to myself was, “I’ll never see these people again so who cares?”

IMG_0734 IMG_0735

Now let me say something here. Traveling alone these past few days has been glorious for me. However, I will say, when you want some really cool pictures of yourself, a selfie stick will only get you so far. Thankfully, I enlisted the help of a nice young woman who was fully dressed so I assumed she wasn’t going in. She was so nice to take pics of me as I got in and swam a little.

IMG_0730 IMG_0731 IMG_0733 IMG_0732 IMG_0737 IMG_0736

Oh…and one other thing about traveling alone. When you ARE almost firmly and safely in the water and you realize you still have your Fitbit on…well let me just say it…SHIT!!!!  Luckily one man next to me in the water took it from me and handed it to his friend standing on land, who kindly proceeded to hold it for me until I was done playing in the water. It was definitely a good day for good Samaritans willing to help me out a little along the way.

I ended my day of nature by stopping at roadside area for BBQ corn and a must-have shave ice.

20151001_144853 20151001_144655-1

It’s now after 7:30 pm…many of you are probably getting ready for bed. I’ve just finished a GREAT meal prepared by Cheryl (my host) and her friend Tina…and the MANY friends of Cheryl’s husband, Dave. This house is always hopping with people.

20151001_191051

So with that, I’m calling it a night to another fannnntastic day! I wish each of you a beautiful evening. If you seriously read this far, I thank you for sharing my trip with me. XOXO

Leave a Reply

