Affirmations & Anniversaries

Let’s talk about affirmations. I’m sure you know there is a strong connection between the way your life is, the way you talk to yourself and what you believe. Many years ago when I was first in the real estate industry, being part of a coaching program was highly suggested by those who had been successful selling real estate. So even though money was tight, I joined because I wanted to be successful too. Of course, I also wanted to feel loved and accepted by those around me <—— key point right there. Every morning I said my affirmations faithfully. The words went something like this: “I am a great salesperson. I love prospecting, so I do it every day. I set one appointment every day. I’m a lean, mean listing machine.”  I even listened to these affirmations with baroque music in the background because I was told by doing so they would sink deeper into my subconscious. The problem was, I never believed any of it no matter how often I pushed “play.”

In 2007 I went through a difficult time with my family as a result of an unpopular decision I made. The time had come when I finally realized and admitted…this was not what I wanted for myself and I was no longer attached to what others thought of me; that there HAD to be something else out there to make me feel good about what I do utilizing aspects of my personality that I didn’t have to “talk” myself into believing. And while I didn’t realize it at the time, I sunk into a bit of depression as a result of it, gaining weight and losing almost all zest for the life going on around me.

I immersed myself in reading–books, articles, interviews, you name it. I journaled and then I read some more. Eventually I was led to a course called the “100 Day Reality Challenge” and within the first few pages of the workbook was this list affirmations:

  • I am a Co-creator:
  • I transform my life
  • I inspire others
  • I create wealth and abundance
  • I expand my awareness
  • I am confident in my ability to design my life
  • I manifest
  • I love
  • I inspire
  • I lead
  • I contribute
  • I dream
  • I serve
  • I am grateful
  • I shine and I laugh
  • I create my life
  • I play
  • I deserve to live the life of my dreams and inspire others to live theirs
  • I am worthy, I am prosperous, I give and receive.

Now here were some affirmations that resonated with every fiber of my soul! I want you to know I never did finish the course, but I believe I was shown what I needed at the time. These affirmations were not associated with a specific kind of job or activity. They were simply words that felt good coming out of mouth. I began saying them twice a week out loud with my affirmations partner, and I’ve been repeating them now for two years. As a result, I truly believe, doors opened, opportunities came to me that I could not have imagined or thought possible for myself and I am now living a life I’m proud of and feel good about. I feel as if I’m contributing and living and sharing and expressing joy just by waking up in the morning. Because my words are believable to me, the actions I take are closely related and I feel happy most of the time.

Today, February 6, 2011, marks my one-year anniversary of being a certified Zumba instructor. You have no idea how proud I feel about this. If you know me, you know Zumba is one of my biggest passions and I simply love it. If we follow along with the affirmations above you’ll see a pattern……Zumba has transformed my life. It inspires others. It makes me money. It allows me to create a life I want. I love what Zumba has created for me. I inspire others to do more with their life through teaching and talking about Zumba. I lead classes I adore. I contribute to people’s health, happiness and fun. I dream of doing more. I serve classes full of people with my energy, routines and passion. Oh yes, I am SO grateful! I smile, shine and laugh during class, even when I forget the next step. I have created a life I love and I play in it gloriously! I deserve to live this life and I want YOU to know, you deserve to live a life YOU love. And you know what? I AM worthy…I AM prosperous….and I will continue to give and receive as long as I believe these things to be true. Choosing thoughts that serve me is the key.

Happy anniversary to me. Thank you to all of you for walking along and sharing in this journey with me. I love you and can’t wait to hear YOUR story.

Kim

P.S. – Please come celebrate with me and my friends – details on my party are right here.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, I love Zumba! It’s the most fun I’ve ever had working out, and as such it has definitely made a positive impact in my life. I’ve been going to my local classes for 2 years now. I would love to help you celebrate your anniversary, but I live way too far away. Congratulations, I’m very happy for you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lan Downs on February 6, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I will certainly be there to celebrate it with you. I have so much fun Zumba-ing with you and the others. Congratulations!

    Reply

  3. Congratulations and happy anniversary! It sounds like you’ve found your place! I’ve added you (again) to the Website Wednesday form Week 1 of The Love Project where the theme was Affirmations. I’ve also added you to my Love Links Page: http://singleagainonlinediary.blogspot.com/p/love-links.html

    Hope you’ll come visit! And I will have to check out Zumba!

    Reply

  4. Happy Anniversary hun! I really needed to read this as my focus in my life is happiness and where I want to be. We go thru life looking for happiness in big packages; however we fail to realize that the greatest joy can come to you in small and simple packages. I am doing a total change in my life right now and the words that you have written gives me the inspiration I need to keep pushing forward to my dreams and happiness….BIG ZUMBA HUG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Reply

    • Thank you so much for your comment! It thrills me to pieces that you found some inspiration in my words. I couldn’t agree with you more on the “small packages” comment. I wrote about that too (sort of) on starting small and big things can happen. Big Zumba hug right back at ya! You’re awesome. 🙂
      Kim

      Reply

  5. Posted by Nichol on February 8, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Kim!

    Such great words and positive vibes you put off! Love this! Being positive is such a powerful thing and I made the promise to myself to be positive, try my best, except myself for who I am and just live a more positive life! It makes living and everything you do in life so much more enjoyable! I love reading what you had to say and you seem like such a beautiful person!!! Keep it up girl!

    Hugs,
    Nichol (midwest_Nichol on twitter…haha)
    xoxo

    Reply

    • Nichol..you’re awesome. Thank you for your comment. Keep making positivity, acceptance and joy a decision you make. Like anything, they can all be learned and become a habit and/or way of life. 🙂 Tweet tweet!

      Reply

  6. Posted by Andrea Lockert on February 9, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Absolutely, beautiful. Your words are so inspiring.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Laurie Boggs on February 23, 2011 at 1:03 am

    Let’s NOT talk about affirmations! Let’s not talk about anything at all! Let’s put all the words and books and blogs and journals and twitters and tweets away for just one minute. Close your eyes Kimberly. Picture someone in your life who has loved you from forever ago, long before you aspired, inspired, conspired or desired anything more complicated than “presence”. Now picture that person, whoever they are to you, simply cupping your beautiful face in their own warm hands, looking deeply into your gorgeous eyes, smiling sweetly, and without a single word being spoken, communicate to you that you are unconditionally loved!

    Your words are wise Kimberly! Your affirmiations are positive and your energy is powerful!

    But your Aunt Laurie just wants to cup your sweet face in my old, veiny, liver spotted hands and somehow be wordlessly in the moment with the child who grew into the woman you have become.

    I love you Sweetheart!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

