Anxiety – Thought I Had This One Down.

Ever feel anxious?

Yeah, me too. Sometimes more than other times. Like right now.

For the last few weeks I’ve felt it. Of course, it’s entirely possible these feelings could be related to other issues going on. I won’t go into details, but when one area of life is lacking, it can bring the whole balancing act down.

I have to say, though, alongside the feelings of anxiety, I also have a feeling of peace. And maybe that’s what has me freaked out. That I don’t feel as freaked out. Does that make sense? You know, like maybe I SHOULD be freaking out when actually I just feel…like…well…whatever. It’s as if at any moment my balloon of comfort is going to have a dart thrown at it, but there will be a whole slew of puffy bubbles waiting at the bottom to catch me when I fall. This feeling comes as a result of having lived my life this far and always witnessing something greater waiting for me on the other side of change.

Currently I seem to be living in a world of “should I do this or that?” It’s tiring. While I’m not particularly a follower of horoscopes, I do occasionally feel amused when they seem to hit spot on. This past weekend I picked up the Arts & Books section of the paper and went directly to the horoscopes. Mine read:

“There is no rush to commit to a single direction. When you find the right target for you, you will know it. The pull will be irresistible. Don’t move unless you have that feeling.”

There you have it. Astrology tells me to sit down, shut up and wait for the pull. Because I don’t really know what else to do right now – and quite honestly since I don’t even truly know what the questions are – waiting seems to be the best option.

This afternoon, while searching for one thing, I found something else. It is a note I wrote to myself a few years ago when I heard Dr. Wayne Dyer say the words from his PBS show, “Inspiration.” Β It reads:

“When I remember to stay in-Spirit, I’ve realized that when one thing appears to be going wrong, I can see clearly ten things that are going right. From a perspective of being in-Spirit, I automatically shift my attention away from what’s going wrong and onto what’s right – this then becomes my point of attraction and I attract more of what I’m focused on. How sublimely beautiful the world now looks to me from this magnificent place of inspiration! No longer do I stay focused on and attract more of what’s going wrong, for I’ve learned to place my attention on what’s right, what’s working, and what’s aligned with the All-Creating Spirit. Rather than hoping, wishing and even praying for an outcome, my inner world aligns with the idea that what I desire is feasible and on its way. This kind of inspired knowing frees me from anxiety and worry. I affirm: “It’s on its way; there’s absolutely nothing to fuss about.” And I leave the time of its arrival into my life in the hands of [God]. I find that I no longer question the Creator of the Universe because I’m at peace with the timing of everything. I know enough now not to push the river, not to demand that the timetable of my ego be the same as God’s.”

I’m going to read the above a few more times just so my ego is clear on something—–>The answers are coming. I don’t have to figure it all out by 5:00 today. So sit down, shut up, and get back to living RIGHT NOW. Oh, and for goodness’ sake…just LOOK at all the fabulous things you’ve got going on!

With love,
from Kim (to Kim),

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by wendy on January 27, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    I love your post couldn’t come in a better time. πŸ˜‰ I’ve been feeling anxious.. I cut down on my caffeine, thinking that’s What it is… lol. Well I’m still anxious..maybe its the fact that my baby has bronchitis and I’m nurserying? It to recovery. Maybe its the fact Thanks I need to exercise and I cannot find the right time.. 😦 all I know is that this anxiety will go away!

    Reply

  2. I love the part of the quote that talks about how demanding my timetable to be recognized by God is just my ego acting out. That thought humbled me. Thank you Kim. You are awesome.

    Reply

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kim Jenkins, Kim Jenkins. Kim Jenkins said: Anxiety. Ever feel it? Let's talk about it. http://su.pr/6VFJes […]

    Reply

  4. Great post Kim! I love Wayne Dyer, he always speaks to my soul.

    What a great reminder to be present in the now moment. I find a great way to reduce anxiety when it arises is to show gratitude and appreciation for all that is going on in our lives. The good and the bad, the lessons, the blessings, the challenges, the un-known’s all of it. When we do and center ourselves in God, knowing that it is all perfect and divine we allow a ease and a flow to open up in our lives.

    Reply

    • Thank you Elizabeth…and you are absolutely correct! I’ve felt a bit tangled up lately, and I realize its because I’ve gotten away from the basics….written gratitudes, intentions…and believing those intentions are possible. But definitely the gratitude for it all. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your post!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

