Resolution, schmesolution!

I’ve been thinking a lot about this New Year hype. As I read Twitter posts and magazines and just about every other source of media I realize how much emphasis we as a society put on “new” in the new year. New…”you, body, job, career, healthy choices, car.” Or….more “reading, walking, organization and less TV.” But…I like TV! I like that I can sit and veg for awhile, clear my head with mindless sitcoms and laugh for awhile. But that’s just me. And I don’t feel the need to purge that which brings me a little bit of comfort and joy, as long as it doesn’t become a 12-hour habit. This new year I didn’t feel the need to make any amazing declarations. I’m more in a place of “let’s just savor right now and see where it leads me.”

Here is the deep and profound thing I know about change: It won’t come until you are ready for it. That’s it!! You have the answer now so you don’t need to beat yourself up wondering why you can’t stick with the new habit, intention, resolution or affirmation……AGAIN! Don’t you feel relieved?? Just be who you are for now. If there is one New Year’s Resolution I would tell you to take on it would be to just like yourself more. Learn to appreciate what you do, how you do it, what you contribute or don’t contribute and more. Start there. Start simple.

Back in my early days of real estate I used to do affirmations because I was told it would change my mindset and turn me into something magnificent. I used to chant “I am a great salesperson!!” “I prospect three hours a day with joy, ease and success.” Oh my God!! What bullpuckey that was! I’m NOT a great salesperson. But I am a person of contribution. I HATED prospecting, but I love connecting and affirming other people. One day I came across a set of affirmations that completely resonated with my soul. I’ll print them someday to show you the difference between trying to make myself something I wasn’t versus getting into a place of just feeling good everyday about who I already am. From that place of feeling good, I could enhance that which I already am by finding and DOING things I enjoy, not force-feeding myself to do things I don’t enjoy. Does that look a little bit like your life at all by any chance?

Wanting more is great. It’s what gets us up in the morning (that and the bills have to be paid). Instead of making all of these resolutions that you KNOW you aren’t really going to keep, remember that life is a continuum. We humans put the calendar in place as a way to make and meet appointments. But your life isn’t a calendar. It should be savored TODAY because tomorrow…well….it simply doesn’t have a permanent appointment on your calendar.

Be gentle with yourself friends. Enjoy the moment. Make plans for tomorrow that excite you, not burden you. And remember that I’m here to cheer you on when you start feeling down about the whole thing. Reach out and find me when you need a lift.

XOXO
Kim

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carol Hinson on January 4, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Kim,
    We are all lucky when you blog! Great words to share.
    Thanks,
    Carol

    Reply

  2. Great post Kim! Very true. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Interesting! I’d love to have you come comment on my blog and point to this post.

    I’m starting something called “The Love Project” and the first week is about affirmations! http://bit.ly/goM3hM Come join and give us your thoughts about affirmations! Feel free to add a link to your website in the comments and I’ll add it to my list!

    In fact, I’m gonna just go ahead and add it now. Any blog that has the name “Gratefulkim’s Blog” belongs in my blogroll. Being grateful is GREAT! (No wonder I’m always spelling it greatful…)

    Thanks for the grate.. I mean, great, post!

    Reply

    • Well aren’t you just fantastic? Thank you for promoting this for me. I’ll do another on Affirmations soon because when I did make the switch to something that felt right…the world truly opened up for me. I’ll check things out on your end as well. Much gratitude!!
      Kim

      Reply

  4. Yes! This is the first year I entered without feeling as though I needed to “fix” a laundry list of crap I think is wrong with me. It’s the first year I wasn’t looking to “begin a new” and simply wanted to “continue.” I’m setting some goals & intentions but I’ve made no resolutions.

    You’re so right on here! Great post!

    Happy New Year! XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

