Just Write!

Someone I follow posted a comment on Twitter today that, for whatever reason, bothered me deeply. I kept re-reading the post, wondering if I was putting too much into it, perhaps taking the comment to a level of judgement that wasn’t entirely true or necessary. In fact as I read it and re-read it, I realized I too was judging. Regardless of the reason, I need to speak up and defend. Don’t ask me why, I just know that the comment touched me enough to get writing about it.

The comment was: “I’m always blown away by how many people blog in run-on sentences with multiple spelling errors, usage problems, etc.”

Writing is such a wonderful gift. I have wanted to write for years. Not a book or a novel, but maybe essays, stories, or most recently, blogs. I have no formal training. I took a few English classes in college, but didn’t pursue it enough to consider myself “good” at writing. I do, however, write from the heart and know many others who do as well. I have read countless blogs and books from people who are able to convey thoughts of love, gratitude, fear, anger, disappointment, hurts, depression, healing and a myriad of other human emotions and experiences. We learn from them. When we know there are others out there who have gone through, or are going through, similar life battles, we gain hope and a sense of community. When I am reading the thoughts and feelings of another struggling person, brave enough to convey and display those thoughts for all to see, I am filled with a sense of awe, encouragement, compassion…and oh yeah..HOPE.

Then of course there are the funny people. The ones whose writing fill us with good old-fashioned belly laughs and feelings of being happy. They can be our saviors when our own lives are not so happy, and help us forget, if only for a moment, whatever plight we are experiencing in the moment. I am grateful for these people for reminding me that things are never so bad that we can’t share a laugh a day.

I’m going to guess that many of the writers I’m referring to are not pro’s. They write when they feel like it and hope it will touch another person. I tend to think if we worried about our spelling and grammar, our run-on sentences (hello!!! I’m super guilty of this!), and our failings in the proper use of the english language, we would never write at all. Isn’t one of our biggest fears in life the fear of judgement and embarrassment? To think that I would miss out on some of the people I’ve met through the power of the written word makes me feel sad, all because they were afraid to begin the process out of fear of looking bad. While it’s easy to pick on someone for misspelling a word, maybe we could look past that and get to the message. Sort of like life really…stop judging the clothes, the job, the hair, the car, the house and look at the person. What does this person have to say? You taking the time to hear could make all the difference in this person’s life.

So…I say JUST WRITE! Get your thoughts out there. Pay no attention to the critics of the world. If you feel like doing a spell check, GREAT! If not, write anyway and get it posted even if it isn’t publishing-ready. If you have something to share, SHARE IT! Because quite frankly, I’ll be one of those people waiting to listen and affirm. Everyone deserves at least that much.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by corizzo on December 10, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Well done! I agree. I’m my own worst enemy and I put off my blog because I don’t think my writing is good enough, but I feel so good when I do write.

    Reply

    • Posted by Cristi Martinez on December 10, 2009 at 10:48 pm

      Kim you are as always so inspiring! It makes me feel good that people like you just care, simply just care. It does feel so good to get out feelings and emotions and it bothers me to think someone would be critiquing my grammar and spelling, especially when I am emotional and sharing deep feelings. Who cares about all that.. You are so correct in saying just write.. and Just share!

      Reply

    • Exactly right Corizzo. Writing is a wonderful purging mechanism to clear our heads and our hearts. So just do it….it’s always good enough for your own enjoyment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  2. Posted by Xiomara on December 11, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I’ll just say this, although you and I both know this. that what is typed out by someone, isn’t neccesarily what they are trying to get accross. And, although we both know this, not to take what someones types too personally.

    I am soooo guilty of this ( writting error) that it keeps me from writing anything at all (smile)
    But that said, I really believe most people don’t care, as long as they understand what the writer is trying to say.

    It’s too bad though that this fear of being percieved as less than perfect keeps some people from fully communicating on the web.(like me), yeah, and that my life is really boring and I’m like way too lazy too. (smile)

    Reply

  3. Posted by lesleehorner on December 19, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Alright Kim, I noticed in paragraph three, sentence two that you….Haha, just kidding!

    I just said to someone the other day that the key to good writing is that it makes the reader feel something while reading it. When you are caught up in emotion, you don’t even notice the errors (if there are any).

    After being in a writing group for over a year now, I obsessively read and edit my posts before I put them up. Then once they’re up I reread them several more times to make sure I didn’t miss anything. I am terrible with comma usage though and am sure my writing is always filled with errors in regards to commas.

    Reply

  4. This is a great post! You give the same advise my coach and trainer gave me. I had so many ideas, journals,feelings etc, I would just share with him, and finally said, just go for it-write and post!! So I took a leap and I’m enjoying every minute of it! Hope you are too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

