Thank you, Annie

Deciding to write this post was a difficult one. I don’t want to walk around in life “tooting my own horn”. Sometimes, though, I have to make an exception. And this time, the exception is for my own personal history as I continue to build this blog. I’d also like to refer back to this during those times we all experience…wondering what in the heck we are here for….as a simple reminder to myself.

A few weeks ago I was given a letter from my 12 year old niece, Annie. She was asked to write a homework assignment on who her role model is. She chose me. Needless to say, I was honored and delighted, but completely blown away when I read her paper. While it may not be entirely accurate (especially the “never does anything bad” part) her words meant so much to me that it made me cry. To think that just being ME made a difference….oh my friends, it just makes it all worthwhile. Everything. And I don’t think I have to go into detail because we all know the things life hands us. How we choose to approach those things and deal with them is the difference between a life lived in joy and a life lived in victim hood.

Recently for a fleeting moment,  life slowed down enough for me to actually hear my own thoughts and my mind literally flashed back to, oh gosh, nearly 21 or 22 years ago when I got my very first “real” corporate job in West Los Angeles. I was so young and naive and had not really been exposed to all the motivational quotes and gurus yet. However, in the copy machine/coffee break/file room there was a bulletin board that contained a collection of office memos, human resources information, etc. etc. And…oddly enough, a quote. I swear to you all this time has passed, and I can still remember standing there, reading that quote over and over again because of how it touched my heart. I haven’t thought about that quote much until now.

I was googling all types of words trying to have my favorite search engine track down that quote for me, to no avail. Then life got in the way–either a home search for a client or a soccer practice I had to drive to…whatever it was….my search ended and was forgotten. Until this morning.

I receive a daily email called Today’s Brilliance which contains motivating and inspiring messages. And at the top of today’s message (ahhhh….how I love synchronicity) was the quote I’d been searching for! I will share it with you and then I humbly ask you to read my beautiful niece’s assignment below.  For me, it was as if 20 something years ago someone was trying to tell me that it’s okay to be the way I was then, and even more important, who I would become over time, despite it not always being the most popular choice or the fastest way to earn a good healthy living.  All I know for sure is…..Thank you, Annie, for letting me know that I do make a difference. 

The Quote:

“Fifty years from now it won’t matter what kind of car you drove, what kind of house you lived in, how much you had in your bank account, or what your clothes looked like, but the world may be a little better because you were important in the life of a child.”  ~Dr. Forest E. Witcraft

The Assignment:

Annie's Letter

6 responses to this post.

  1. How special and great reminders! Touching a child’s life and being touched by a child is life’s greatest gift. I love how the quote found you.

    Reply

  2. I’m glad you ‘tooted your own horn’! It is important for us to acknowledge that we are being seen by our loved ones for who we are in the world. While we are online, it is easy for us to walk the walk, but when it comes to the people in our lives that we have to LIVE with, who have known us and our pasts, it is not easy to be heard for who we are- so TOOT AWAY Sweetie! Congrats to you for being the person that you are making the impression that you do others. AWESOME!

    Reply

  3. Posted by abp on October 22, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Count me as an “Annie” too.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nona on January 2, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I have a t-shirt that says, ” I don’t like to beep my own horn….but BEEP BEEP!!”….Beep on sister….it does not get any better than changing the life of a child. ahhhhhhh

    Reply

  5. […] knowing I made a difference in the life of a child. My child. And if you recall from a previous blogpost of mine, that means a whole lot to […]

    Reply

  6. I’m glad you ‘tooted your own horn’! It is important for us to acknowledge that we are being seen by our loved ones for who we are in the world. While we are online, it is easy for us to walk the walk, but when it comes to the people in our lives that we have to LIVE with, who have known us and our pasts, it is not easy to be heard for who we are- so TOOT AWAY Sweetie! Congrats to you for being the person that you are making the impression that you do others. AWESOME!
    +1

    Reply

Leave a Reply

