Please…don’t mess with my piles.

I am a pile person. It’s not something I’m particularly proud of, but not something I beat myself up for either. It is what it is and my piles are merely a by-product of my busy life.  What is a pile person, you ask? Well, in my case, my home and surroundings have many little piles of  “stuff” in designated locations. Piles of paperwork, my kids school pictures (dating back several years and still in their original envelopes), articles I want to keep, fundraising receipts, real estate forms, notes my children have written me, school projects and class syllabus’, and oh so much more! You get the idea. Things I want to keep, don’t know what to do with JUST YET, but will eventually get around to it before I die. And if not, well….my kids can use it as kindling for those chilly nights by the fireplace.

So, this morning I was up at 4:30 a.m. I have a deadline to meet for the school’s newsletter. I have yet another crazy day ahead of me of working with buyers who either A) can’t make a decision, or B) make a decision on the house they want but can’t get it because of the all-cash investors out there scooping up all the homes making it nearly impossible for the average home buyer to secure a home they’ve been waiting for years to buy. But I digress.

I’m up working on the newsletter at 4:30 in the freaking morning because finding time to work on it is slightly challenging in between running kids to and from school, working on my struggling real estate business, cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping, exercising, driving to and from soccer practices, volunteering, laundry…oh the list goes on! If you’re a working woman with kids, you’re totally feeling me right now, shaking your head vigorously up and down, saying Yes! Yes! I get it!  In other words, there is a lot of work to be done and only so many hours to get it done.

Which brings me back to my piles. I know what is  in my piles. I know which pile I need to address and when. The kids can ask me where their *fill in the blank* is and I can walk directly to the pile that contains it, shuffle through several pages knowing how deep within the piles it is, and voila! Found! 

This morning, while I was working on the newsletter (again I remind you I was up at 4:30 am) my husband decided to screw around with my piles in the kitchen. While I can totally and completely appreciate how lovely my kitchen now looks with available counter space, I’m guessing he completely overlooked that he has just created yet another to-do list for me….and that is to sort through the piles now PILED up on my kitchen table. This is one of the many examples of why wives dream of stabbing their husbands repeatedly why they sleep…or is that just me?

It’s now 7:30 in the morning, I’ve made extreme progress with the newsletter, and I am in need of crawling back into bed for the sleep I didn’t get the chance to complete. I’m feeling pretty certain at this point, however, that I will be unable to fall back to sleep. Because, while I have tackled the newsletter and feel certain I’ll meet my Monday deadline, I now have the new deadline of cleaning the unwelcomed piles on the kitchen table before anyone wants to sit and eat anything.

Is it too early for wine?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yes, I can relate. I’m continually clearing and organizing and putting away -only to find more piles. I like not beating ourselves up for that and accepting that some piles are just part of life while we work and raise a family. My daily practice is to continue letting go of more so I have less piles and more space to just BE, rather than always finding myself on the go and doing more and more. Although being sick is no fun- it’s a good lesson on slowing down and doing less!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nona on January 2, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    my favorite quote that I actually have framed, “I’m not disorganized, I’m just flexible”. I totally get the piles! I always say, ” it may look out of order to you but thats because you don’t understand my organization methods……it may look a mess but believe me, I know where everything is……believe me, there is order to this chaos…..just a few of my regular catch phrases…lol:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

