Time to Let the Cat Out of the Bag.

catoutofbagI hope you’re sitting down. I’ve been withholding a secret from you for months. And now it’s time to let you in on it.

My husband’s current job is moving to Portland, Oregon. [deep breath]

He told me about this several months ago. My reaction, of course, was how can I possibly move to Oregon? Here in California I have family, friends, students, history, roots, an abundance of contacts and resources. How can I leave all of that? So I did what any good Gemini would do. I refused to believe it. And that was that.

There was just one problem. My husband didn’t refuse to believe it. He was completely serious. He knew it was our reality. Where the job is, is where we also need to be. The “plan” consisted of the hubs moving up to Portland in February. My two girls and I would stay through June so my oldest could graduate high school. After that, the packing, the goodbyes and the road trip to a new life begins! You have no idea of the sadness I have felt. Every lunch I had with friends was one step closer to my last lunch.  Every Zumba class I taught got me one step closer to my last class. This past Christmas was my last California Christmas with the entire family in one place. It was all so gut-wrenching. Over the last few months I literally have experienced all the stages of grief.

  • Denial & Isolation (hell no I’m not moving!!)
  • Anger (Oh did I experience anger! How the #%&^*$ can this POSSIBLY be happening dammit?)
  • Bargaining (what if I do this, or do that? Maybe I can find a job and stay here with the kids and do things myself.)
  • Depression (a deep, intense sadness that was difficult to control and hide)….and finally….
  • Acceptance. Accepting the fact that the job is in Portland, a new life awaits us in Portland, and that is that. I’m not going to break up our family because of this, so I must go and do what I must do. Start all over again at age 47. *sigh* Okay. I can do this.

At 7:00 a.m. this morning, January 3, 2013, my husband called to let me know his boss wants him in Portland mid-month for a week to work in the office. This would be a good time for me and our youngest daughter to also go out there and begin our home search, look around the area, find a high school…you know….the things a family needs to do before making a 1,000 mile relocation to another state. Boy did this day arrive quickly.

So….with all of that being said, scroll back up and remember I started this post out with the words “My husband’s current job.”

As of about 11:30 this morning, he was offered (and accepted) a NEW position……right here in Irvine, California. He is scheduled to begin January 22, 2013. We are officially NOT moving to Portland, Oregon. :)

B-R-E-A-T-H-E.

And never-give-up-hope for what you really, really want. :)

XOXO

Kim

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laurie Vasquez-Robinson on January 3, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!! THAT’S ALL I HAVE FOR NOW. OOOOOMMMMMMGGGGGGGG

    Reply

  2. Laurie…ha ha ha ha. I was so scared!! :) Now I’m not.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Melody Ciaravino on January 3, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    On this Thankful Thursday… i’m glad he got the new job in Irvine!! We need you here!

    Reply

  4. Posted by wendy on January 3, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    Omg!! Oh held my breath & tears started to roll down even before I finish reading…. why?? My zumba queen,, my marketing gal, my friend was moving.!?then I quickly started smiling knowing you we’re staying …I would of been happy either way as long as your happy …<3 thankful for you Thursday

    Reply

  5. Posted by Denise on January 4, 2013 at 12:09 am

    I’m so happy! Tears of joy for ALL of us! Life would be missing a big JOY w/o you Kim!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Michelle on January 4, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    Portland is awesome.. and it’s NOT like you don’t make friends easily :-) but glad you are happy.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Carol Carmona on January 4, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    That’s wonderful! God always answers prayers!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Tammy Perez on January 4, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    Kim, I am so happy to hear the good news. I know Oregon is mourning their loss for sure. The Jenkins family would have made it a better place. However, I am so happy you are staying here” Congrats Ben!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Debby Gibbs on January 12, 2013 at 5:09 am

    Holy Crap, sister!! What an emotional rollercoaster!! I know it has been forever since we’ve seen each other…but I’m so glad you’re not leaving!!! YAY!!!! oxox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,170 other followers

