Being Brave, Bold & Capable

My first job at 16 years old was as an aerobics instructor for a small studio in my hometown where I taught aerobic dance to mostly women much older than me. I also sold Mary Kay Cosmetics part time. Me and my 1967 blue Volkswagen bug drove all over L.A. County and beyond teaching women to take care of their skin. Fast forward (ahem!) a few years and today I am teaching Zumba® Fitness classes to women of all ages, and have just signed up to be a consultant for Arbonne.

But here’s the truth. I hate sales. I don’t want to be “that person” who bugs people, asks for their business, or even worse, when they see me coming they turn away. The thought of that horrifies me! A friend of mine told me recently she thought I’d make a great consultant, and after listening to the integrity of the business, I decided this was a business I wanted to align with. It felt like the perfect marriage between my fitness career and my never-ending desire to make a difference for people.

After several nights of restless sleep, a week later I changed my mind, telling my friend I was sending back my new consultant kit because I just couldn’t do it. More nights of tossing and turning – did I make the right decision? Should I try it? No, I’ll fail miserably so just let it go. No one will like me or help me or ever want to talk to me again. (<——By the way this is referred to as the ugly drunk money on your shoulder who thinks you’re worthless at everything!) After yet another week passed, a treasured friend of mine told me that, had I continued on as a consultant, she would have purchased from me. What??!! Simultaneously I heard from two other women who SWEAR by Arbonne and suddenly I started thinking differently. It was sort of the kick in the butt I needed to go ahead and give this opportunity….well…an opportunity to thrive. So I’m keeping my kit and giving this thing a try. After all, we miss 100% of the shots we don’t take, right?

There comes a point when we get tired of not being able to make the decisions we want to make. Whether it’s financial, mental, or some other reason, at some point the need to change becomes less painful and scary than living with the status quo.  I’m at the point where I need to bust out of my own self-imposed chains and take charge of my life.

I’m nervous. I’m completely used to promoting other women and their businesses and absolutely get a kick out of helping them. It’s an entirely different story when I am the one that needs the help. Part of this journey will be overcoming that innate sense of “not being good enough” to be helped by others. And yet, because I even feel this way, it’s a journey I absolutely need to make.

I’m ready. Now who wants a facial? :)

xoxo

Kim

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laurie Vasquez-Robinson on November 5, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    You are incredible! You are not alone…you will see! xxoo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Eve Crenshaw on November 5, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    Your zest for life translates into honesty and energy in anything you do. Keep on expanding your knowledge and stepping out of your comfort zone-YOU are an AMAZING example!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,170 other followers

